Found at:

RuneQuest 6th Edition

Top level News

Well maybe not the latest of news, but The Design Mechanism is now publishing RuneQuest.

Officially this will be RuneQuest 6th edition, but not sure what The Design Mechanism will number this edition at. From what I understand The Design Mechanism is comprised of the team that wrote Mongoose RuneQuest 2 (aka 5th edition).

For the newcomers to RuneQuest, the numbering can be confusing, briefly:

1st and 2nd Editions were published by Chaosium in the late 1970's and early 1980's respectivly.
3rd Edition was published by Avalon Hill under licence from Chaosium later in the 1980's.
There was then a unpublished 4th edition (Adventures in Glorantha) and another game called RuneQuest Slayers (also unpublished).

After that RuneQuest went on hold for a long time until the copywrite opened up and was subsequently published by Mongoose Publishing as 1st and 2nd edition (i.e. 4th and 5th edition).

Thus the latest version from The Design Mechanism becomes 6th edition. Quid Pro Quo.

Interestingly the original 3rd edition became Basice Role Playing sands the words RuneQuest and MRQ2 is now called Legend (or Wayfearer?) and is still being piublished by Mongoose.

Receivers email:


Your email:


| Send this article to a friend |